Get Help With Two-factor Authentication

topics about two-factor authentication

Question one: If I can’t sign in, how do I regain access to my account?

If you can’t sign in, access a trusted device, reset your password, or receive verification codes, you can request account recovery to regain access to your account. Account recovery is an automatic process designed to get you back in to your account as quickly as possible while denying access to anyone who might be pretending to be you.

Question two: Do I still need to remember any security questions?

No. With two-factor authentication, you don’t need to remember any security questions. We verify your identity exclusively using your password and verification codes sent to your trusted devices and phone numbers. When you enroll in two-factor authentication, we keep your old security questions on file for two weeks in case you need to return your account to its previous security settings. After that, they’re deleted.

Question three: Can Apple Support help me regain access to my account?

Apple Support can answer your questions about the account recovery process, but can’t verify your identity or expedite the process in any way.

Question four: What if I don’t recognize the location shown in my sign in notification?

If you know you’re the person trying to sign in but you don’t recognize the location shown, you can still tap Allow and continue signing in. However, if you ever see a notification that your Apple ID is being used to sign in on a new device and you’re not the one signing in, tap Don’t Allow to block the sign in attempt.

Question five: Is this different than Apple’s current two-step verification feature?

Yes. It uses different methods to trust devices and deliver verification codes, and offers a more streamlined user experience. You need two-factor authentication to use certain features that require improved security.

Question six: Can I turn off two-factor authentication after I’ve turned it on?

If you already use two-factor authentication, you can no longer turn it off. Certain features in the latest versions of iOS and macOS require this extra level of security, which is designed to protect your information. If you recently updated your account, you can unenroll for two weeks.

Also read: Is it possible to get lost data back from iPhone/iPad/iPod touch back if no backup?