What Do Different Reset Options Mean?

reset-iphone

iOS presents you with a lot of different options while resetting your phone, and it can be confusing to know which one to choose. Here’s an explanation of what the other options do, so that you can choose the best reset for your needs.

It is terribly important to keep in mind that if you are selling your phone or turning it over to someone else, the only one that safely erases everything and takes your phone back to its original state is Erase All Contents and Settings.

Reset all settings

If you choose this option, you won’t lose all your data, but you will lose your settings and your Wi-Fi password. Manual settings will disappear, but you won’t miss your pictures, apps, or other content.

Erase All Content and Settings

This is the option we described at the start of this post, which erases everything from your device. Your settings, pictures, apps, and other data will all vanish for good — unless you preformed a backup like we recommended above.

Reset Network Settings

Sometimes you just need to refresh your network settings to get your phone connecting better. Choosing this option resets your network settings, flushes the cache, and deletes temporary files. It’s great for those of you who are having troubles with Wi-Fi connections.

Reset Keyboard Dictionary

Sometimes autocorrect can do more damage than good. If you feel like the iPhone is always suggesting typos and the wrong words to you based on your previous messages, you can reset the keyboard dictionary and start over from scratch.

Reset Home Screen Layout

Although most people like to set up their smartphone’s home screen with their favorite apps, sometimes it’s nice to refresh things. If you ever want to go back to the original home screen layout that came with your phone, you can choose this reset option.

Rest Location & Privacy

Sometimes when you start tapping around in settings, you can mess things up. If you want to go back to the phone’s original privacy and location settings, this is the rest for you. All your other info will remain intact.

Original Source: Digitaltrends

How To Restore Only Contacts, Notes and Messages After Factory Reset?

iPhone Data loss After Factory Reset: How to Selectively Recover iPhone Lost Data

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*